skip to main content
SciO Wins Regioanals
Posted On:
Tuesday, March 27, 2018

LASA Science Olympiad had a great tournament this past weekend in Katy, TX. Our A team placed 1st, and our B team placed 3rd (barely missing 2nd!) out of 20 competing teams. This means we qualify for the state tournament, and will be moving on to compete at Texas A&M in College Station on April 20 and 21!



Below is a list of top 3 event finishes at the tournament. Please congratulate these students if you see them. Attached are some team photos.


1st Place Finishes

Anatomy and Physiology – Edward Lee and Shih En Lin

Astronomy – Shubhanga Ballal and Sam Christian

Chemistry Lab – Sarah Chieng and Abhi Dhir

Disease Detectives – Jenny Lu and Danika Luo

Dynamic Planet – Michael Taleff and Shubhanga Ballal

Ecology – Edward Lee and Prerna Kundalgurki

Experimental Design – Logan Kinnaman, Samuel Tian, Ishan Ladhani

Fermi Questions – Nikhil Lyles and Lily Yeazell

Forensics – Michael Taleff and Manasa Sudunagunta

Game On – Sarah Chieng and Kevin Black

Herpetology – Prerna Kundalgurki and Manasa Sudunagunta

Materials Science – Shubhanga Ballal and Abhi Dhir

Microbe Mission – Edward Lee and Prerna Kundalgurki

Mousetrap Vehicle – Yash Patil and Richard Liu

Optics – Abhi Dhir and Carly Smith

Remote Sensing – Michael Taleff and Sam Christian

Rocks and Minerals – Prerna Kundalgurki and Manasa Sudunagunta

Thermodynamics – Sarah Chieng and Kevin Black


2nd Place Finishes

Chemistry Lab – Andrew Yu and Nikhil Lyles

Dynamic Planet – Vidhya Annem and Chinmay Murthy

Fermi Questions – Shih En Lin and Sam Christian

Game On – Zac Schulwolf and Logan Kinnaman

Materials Science – Andrew Yu and Pranav Bingi


3rd Place Finishes

Anatomy and Physiology – Nikhil Lyles and Andrew Yu

Disease Detectives – Arushi Harkawat and Keyu Chen

Experimental Design – Sarah Chieng, Edward Lee, Yash Patil

Helicopters – Cora Lewis and Keyu Chen

Microbe Mission – Vidhya Annem and Eshita Sangani

Mousetrap Vehicle – Zac Schulwolf and Samuel Tian

Remote Sensing – Vidhya Annem and Arushi Harkawat

Rocks and Minerals – Logan Kinnaman and Lily Yeazell

View all Latest News